🇲🇦CHAN 2020: Bouftini and El Kaabi inspire Morocco to historic win

Morocco have retained the trophy they won at home in 2018, becoming the first country to win the competition back_to_back.

  • Morocco has become the first country to win the competition back_to_back
  • Lhoussaine Ammouta and his boys have now equalled DR Congo’s record of two CHAN trophies
  • Morocco scored 15 goals on their way to winning the trophy, conceding just three
  • Morocco’s Soufiane Rahimi finished the competition has top scorer with five goals and the Most Valuable player.

The Atlas lions of Morocco have beaten the Eagles of Mali 2#0, to retain their CHAN trophy.

Soufiane Bouftini’s 69 minute thumping header and Ayoub El Kaabi’s 79 minute goal, capped a perfect Second half performance for Lhoussaine Ammouta’s men.


Mali’s Issaka Samake had the first booking of the game less than five minutes after kick off, as he attempts to stop Soufiane Rahimi.

The Atlas lions forced Mali to committing several errors at the back, and the Eagles needed the vigilance of goalkeeper Djigui Diarra, to stop Rahimi’s goal bound free kick at the 19 minute of play.

Stade Malien’s forward Moussa Kone, squandered a one on one with goalkeeper Anas Zniti at the 23rd minute, as both sides struggled to create any glaring chances in the first half an hour.

Moussa Kone came close at the 38th minute, when he headed from Moussa Kyabou’s cross, but the ball went narrowly wide.

Mali succeeded in neutralizing Morocco’s playmakers, Abdelilah Hafidi and Soufiane Rahimi, while Ayoub El Kaabi remained Anonymous throughout the first half.

The Atlas lions looked more organized upon resumption for the second segment, with both El Kaabi and Rahimi coming close.

Calls for a penalty from the Moroccans after Soufiane Rahimi appeared to have been trapped down in Mali’s penalty area, were waved away after VAR checks, moments before Sadio Kanoute’s thumping header went inches away from Zniti’s goal post.

Goalkeeper Anas Zniti kept Morocco in the game, when he palmed away Moussa Kone’s 64th minute effort.

Hassania Agadir’s midfielder Soufiane Bouftini, raised above his markers, to power in Omar Namsaoui’s corner kick, to put morocco in front at the 69 minute.

Soufiane Bouftini celebrates his opener against Mali

10 minutes later (79), Ayoub El Kaabi in similar fashion, smash a header pass goalkeeper Djigui Diarra, killing any hopes of a potential comeback from the Malians.

Coach Nouhoum Samake Diane brought in Bassekou Diabaté, Ousmane Kamissoko and Zoumana Simpara, in the place of Moussa Kone, Makan Samabali and Moussa Ballo respectively.

All attempts from the Eagles to get a consolation were dashed away, with Issaka Samake sent off late on.

Morocco therefore becomes the first team to win the CHAN back to back to back, and now equalled DR Congo’s record of highest CHAN trophies won (2).

The next edition of the African Nations championship will take place in Algeria 2022.


Afeseh Apong

Afeseh Apong is a graduate of the Advanced School of Mass Communication, ASMAC, and is currently Team press officer of PWD Bamenda

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker