World Cup 2022 briefing: will the 20-year cycle work for Brazil? | World Cup 2022

World Cup
Composite: Guardian

The main event

Brazil’s legendary 1970 side of Pelé, Rivelino, Jairzinho and Carlos Alberto are still regarded as the greatest World Cup team in history and despite being favourites again this time, the 2022 iteration is unlikely to hit those glorious heights. But Brazil are surely due a big tournament, having not lifted the trophy since 2002 when Ronaldo (the real one) shook off the trauma of the 1998 final by plundering eight goals and even finding time for a daft haircut.

Looking at 20-year cycles bodes well for Brazil. In 1962: winners, 1982: best team not to have…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest posts